Home / Coins by Country / Coins from United Kingdom / Crown 1825 (Proof only)

Detailed information about Coin: Crown 1825 (Proof only) from United Kingdom

Coin: Crown 1825 (Proof only)

CountryUnited Kingdom CurrencyPound Sterling (pre-decimal)
Face value5 (x Shilling) TypeCrown (Shield)
Year1825 CurrentNo (demonetised 1971)
NameMint markMintage
Royal Mint No mint mark unknown
Material0.925 Silver Designer
MonarchKing George IV EffigyPortrait by Jean Baptiste Merlen
Production technologyMilled (machine-made) ShapeRound
Size (mm)39 Thickness (mm)
Mass (g)28.2760

Bare head of King George IV facing left; around, GEORGIUS IV DEI GRATIA; below, 1825.

Obverse inscription GEORGIUS IV DEI GRATIA 1825

At centre garnished shield bearing the Royal arms surmounted by a crowned helmet and with lambrequins; below on a scroll the motto of the Garter, DIEU ET MON DROIT; around, BRITANNIARUM REX FID: DEF:

Reverse inscription


EdgePlain Edge inscription



Spink describes the coin as "inscribed edge", Krause as "plain edge".

Not listed in Davenport ot the Catalogue of British Commonwealth Coins 1649 - 1971.

Crown 1825 (Proof only): Catalogue Reference IDs
SourceReference ID
Krause, Standard Catalog of World CoinsGreat Britain KM# Pn90
Spink, Coins of England and the United Kingdom3806
Crown 1825 (Proof only): References to Information Used
Spink, Coins of England and the United Kingdom Mint
For Sale ads by our members
It seems none of our members is selling this coin now. If you have one to sell, sign up and advertise it for free.
List of all (45) coins of type: United Kingdom / Crown
Crown 1818 Crown 1819 Crown 1820 Crown 1821 Crown 1822 Crown 1825 (Proof only)
Crown 1826 (Proof only) Crown 1831 (Proof only) Crown 1834 (Pattern) Crown 1839 (Proof only) Crown 1844 Crown 1845
Crown 1847 Crown 1847 Gothic Crown 1853 (Proof only) Crown 1887 Crown 1888 Crown 1889
Crown 1890 Crown 1891 Crown 1892 Crown 1893 Crown 1894 Crown 1895
Crown 1896 Crown 1897 Crown 1898 Crown 1899 Crown 1900 Crown 1902
Crown 1927 (Proof only) Crown 1928 Crown 1929 Crown 1930 Crown 1931 Crown 1932
Crown 1933 Crown 1934 Crown 1935 Rocking Horse Crown 1936 Crown 1937 Crown 1951 Festival of Britain
Crown 1953 Crown 1960 Crown 1965 Churchill