Home / Coins by Country / Coins from United Kingdom / Ten pence 2008 (Dent design)

Detailed information about Coin: Ten pence 2008 (Dent design) from United Kingdom

Coin: Ten pence 2008 (Dent design)

CountryUnited Kingdom CurrencyPound Sterling
Face value5 (x Penny) TypeFive Pence (CuproNickel, Dent design)
Year2008 CurrentYes
Mintage71,447,000 (71.4 million)
MintRoyal Mint
MaterialCuproNickel DesignerMatthew Dent
MonarchQueen Elizabeth II EffigyPortrait by Ian Rank-Broadley (Fourth Portrait)
Production technologyMilled (machine-made) ShapeRound
Size (mm)18 Thickness (mm)1.7000
Mass (g)3.2500

Portrait of Her Majesty the Queen.

Obverse inscription



In August 2005 the Royal Mint launched a competition to find new reverse designs for all circulating coins apart from the £2 coin. The winner, announced in April 2008, was Matthew Dent, whose designs were gradually introduced into the circulating British coinage from mid-2008. The designs for the 1p, 2p, 5p, 10p, 20p and 50p coins depict sections of the Royal Shield that form the whole shield when placed together. The shield in its entirety is featured on the £1 coin.

The 10p coin depicts the first quarter of the shield, showing the lions passant from the Royal Banner of England, with the words TEN PENCE above the shield design. The coin's obverse remains largely unchanged, but the beading (the ring of dots around the coin's circumference), which no longer features on the coin's reverse, has also been removed from the obverse.

Reverse inscription


Edgemilled Edge inscription

For Sale ads by our members
It seems none of our members is selling this coin now. If you have one to sell, sign up and advertise it for free.
List of all (50) coins of type: United Kingdom / Five Pence
Five pence 1968 Five pence 1969 Five pence 1970 Five pence 1971 Five pence 1972 (Proof only) Five pence 1973 (Proof only)
Five pence 1974 (Proof only) Five pence 1975 Five pence 1976 (Proof only) Five pence 1977 Five pence 1978 Five pence 1979
Five pence 1980 Five pence 1981 (Proof only) Five pence 1982 (Proof and mints sets only) Five pence 1983 (Proof and mints sets only) Five pence 1984 (Proof and mints sets only) Five pence 1985 (Proof and mints sets only)
Five pence 1986 (Proof and mints sets only) Five pence 1987 Five pence 1988 Five pence 1989 Five pence 1990 Five pence 1991
Five pence 1992 Five pence 1993 (Proof and mints sets only) Five pence 1994 Five pence 1995 Five pence 1996 Five pence 1997
Five pence 1998 Five pence 1999 Five pence 2000 Ten pence 2000 Five pence 2001 Five pence 2002
Five pence 2003 Five pence 2004 Five pence 2005 Five pence 2006 Five pence 2007 Ten pence 2007
Five pence 2008 (Ironside design) Five pence 2008 (Dent design) Ten pence 2008 (Dent design) Five pence 2009 Five pence 2010 Five pence 2011
Five pence 2012 Five pence 2013