Home / Coins by Country / Coins from United Kingdom / Ten pence 2015

Detailed information about Coin: Ten pence 2015 from United Kingdom

Coin: Ten pence 2015

CountryUnited Kingdom CurrencyPound Sterling
Face value10 (x Penny) TypeTen Pence (Steel, Dent design)
Year2015 CurrentYes
MintRoyal Mint
MaterialSteel DesignerMatthew Dent
MonarchQueen Elizabeth II EffigyPortrait by Ian Rank-Broadley (Fourth Portrait)
Production technologyMilled (machine-made) ShapeRound
Size (mm)24.5000 Thickness (mm)2.0500
Mass (g)6.5000

Portrait of Her Majesty the Queen.

Obverse inscription



In August 2005 the Royal Mint launched a competition to find new reverse designs for all circulating coins apart from the £2 coin. The winner, announced in April 2008, was Matthew Dent, whose designs were gradually introduced into the circulating British coinage from mid-2008. The designs for the 1p, 2p, 5p, 10p, 20p and 50p coins depict sections of the Royal Shield that form the whole shield when placed together. The shield in its entirety is featured on the £1 coin.

The 10p coin depicts the first quarter of the shield, showing the lions passant from the Royal Banner of England, with the words TEN PENCE above the shield design. The coin's obverse remains largely unchanged, but the beading (the ring of dots around the coin's circumference), which no longer features on the coin's reverse, has also been removed from the obverse.

Reverse inscription


Edgemilled Edge inscription

For Sale ads by our members
It seems none of our members is selling this coin now. If you have one to sell, sign up and advertise it for free.
List of all (46) coins of type: United Kingdom / Ten Pence
Ten pence 1968 Ten pence 1969 Ten pence 1970 Ten pence 1971 Ten pence 1972 (Proof only) Ten pence 1973
Ten pence 1974 Ten pence 1975 Ten pence 1976 Ten pence 1977 Ten pence 1978 (Proof only) Ten pence 1979
Ten pence 1980 Ten pence 1981 Ten pence 1982 (Proof only) Ten pence 1983 (Proof only) Ten pence 1984 (Proof only) Ten pence 1985 (Proof only)
Ten pence 1986 (Proof only) Ten pence 1987 (Proof only) Ten pence 1988 (Proof only) Ten pence 1989 (Proof only) Ten pence 1990 (Proof only) Ten pence 1991 (Proof only)
Ten pence 1992 Ten pence 1993 (Proof and mints sets only) Ten pence 1994 (Proof and mints sets only) Ten pence 1995 Ten pence 1996 Ten pence 1997
Ten pence 1998 (Proof and mints sets only) Ten pence 1999 (Proof and mints sets only) Ten pence 2001 Ten pence 2002 Ten pence 2003 Ten pence 2004
Ten pence 2005 Ten pence 2006 Ten pence 2008 (Ironside design) Ten pence 2009 Ten pence 2010 Ten pence 2011
Ten pence 2012 Ten pence 2013 Ten pence 2014 Ten pence 2015