Austria, First Republic and Federal State: Information

Austria, First Republic and Federal State (1919 - 1938)

The First Austrian Republic (German: Republik Österreich) was created after the signing of the Treaty of Saint-Germain-en-Laye on September 10, 1919 - the settlement after the end of World War I which ended the Habsburg rump state of Republic of German-Austria - and ended with the establishment of the Austrofascist Federal State of Austria based upon a dictatorship of Engelbert Dollfuss and the Fatherland's Front in 1934. The Republic's constitution was enacted in October 1, 1920 and amended on December 7, 1929. The republican period was increasingly marked by violent strife between those with left-wing and right-wing views, leading to the July Revolt of 1927 and the Austrian Civil War of 1934.

The Federal State of Austria (Austrian German: Bundesstaat Österreich ; colloquially known as the Ständestaat, "Corporate State") was a continuation of the First Austrian Republic between 1934 and 1938 when it was a one-party state led by the clerico-fascist Fatherland Front. The Ständestaat concept, derived from the notion of Stände ("estates" or "corporations"), was propaganda advocated by leading regime politicians such as Engelbert Dollfuss and Kurt Schuschnigg. The result was an authoritarian government based on a mix of conservative Catholic and Italian Fascist influences.

On 13 March 1938 the country was absorbed into Nazi Germany (the act is known as the "Anschluss").

Royal Mint
Royal Mint
Austria, First Republic and Federal State: Details
Official NameRepublic of Austria
Original NameRepublik Österreich
FlagFlag of Austria, First Republic and Federal State
Austria, First Republic and Federal State: Currencies Used
Austrian Krone 1919 1925
Austrian Schilling 1924 1938