Home / Information / Countries / Tuvalu

Information about Tuvalu.

Country: Tuvalu
ISO code/s TV / TUV
From year1978

Tuvalu (formerly known as the Ellice Islands), is a Polynesian island nation located in the Pacific Ocean, midway between Hawaii and Australia. It comprises three reef islands and six true atolls spread out between the latitude of 5° to 10° south and longitude of 176° to 180°, west of the International Date Line. Its nearest neighbours are Kiribati, Nauru, Samoa and Fiji. Tuvalu has a population of 10,837. The total land area of the islands of Tuvalu is 26 square kilometres.

Monarch reigns
Queen Elizabeth II 1 October 1978