Information about currency: Hyderabadi Rupee

Hyderabadi Rupee (1918 - 1959)
Currency NameHyderabadi Rupee

The Hyderabadi Rupee was the currency of the Hyderabad State from 1918 to 1959. It coexisted with the Indian rupee from 1950. Like the Indian rupee, it was divided into 16 annas, each of 12 pai. Coins were issued in copper (later bronze) for denominations of 1 and 2 pai and ½ anna, in cupro-nickel (later bronze) for 1 anna and in silver for 2, 4 and 8 annas and 1 rupee.

Hyderabad was the only Indian princely state that was permitted to continue issuing its own notes after joining the Dominion of India in 1948 and the Republic of India in 1950.

Hyderabadi Rupee: Details
Issued ByHyderabad State
Hyderabadi Rupee: Users