Home / General Information / List of Mints / United States Mint, Washington

Information about mint: United States Mint, Washington

Mint nameUnited States Mint, Washington
LocationWashington D.C.
CountryUnited States
Dates1792 -

The United States Mint primarily produces circulating coinage for the United States to conduct its trade and commerce. The Mint was created by Congress with the Coinage Act of 1792, and originally placed within the Department of State. Per the terms of the Coinage Act, the first Mint building was in Philadelphia, then the capital of the United States; it was the first building of the Republic raised under the Constitution. Today, the Mint's headquarters are in Washington D.C. which is not a coin producing facility. It operates mint facilities in Philadelphia, Denver, San Francisco, and West Point, New York and a bullion depository at Fort Knox, Kentucky. Official Mints (Branches) were once also located in Carson City, Nevada, Charlotte, North Carolina, Dahlonega, Georgia, New Orleans, Louisiana, Washington, D.C.; and even in Manila, in the Philippines.

Web sitehttp://www.usmint.gov/
Royal Mint Bullion
Royal Mint Bullion