Home / Information / Countries / Malaysia

Information about Malaysia.

Country: Malaysia
ISO code/s MY / MYS
From year1957

Malaysia is a federal constitutional monarchy located in Southeast Asia. It consists of thirteen states and three federal territories and has a total landmass of 329,847 square kilometres separated by the South China Sea into two similarly sized regions, Peninsular Malaysia and East Malaysia (Malaysian Borneo). Peninsular Malaysia shares a land and maritime border with Thailand and maritime borders with Singapore, Vietnam, and Indonesia. East Malaysia shares land and maritime borders with Brunei and Indonesia and a maritime border with the Philippines. The capital city is Kuala Lumpur, while Putrajaya is the seat of the federal government. By 2015, with a population of over 30 million, Malaysia became the 43rd most populous country in the world. The southernmost point of continental Eurasia, Tanjung Piai, is in Malaysia, located in the tropics. It is one of 17 megadiverse countries on earth, with large numbers of endemic species.

See also
Malaya (British) 18191946
Straits Settlements 18261946
Sarawak 18411946
North Borneo 18821963
Board of Commissioners of Currency 19381979
Malayan Union 19461948
Latest coin and currency news articles from country: Malaysia (click here for all news from Malaysia)
The Star OnlineAvid collector proud owner of 50 sen first-issue pieces minted between 1967-69
May 5, 2016

he face value is only 50 sen and minting date is 1967 and yet some 46 years later, the rare coin sitting among John Goh’s collection is now worth a whopping S$4,200 (over RM10,700). The president of Sarawak Philatelic and Numismatic Society told The Star here that during the Collectible Auction Asia in Singapore on Oct 19, the opening price for that very coin was S$1,600 (RM4,100) apiece.