Online Coin Club / Home / General Information / List of Currencies / South Sudanese Pound

Information about currency: South Sudanese Pound

Currency nameSouth Sudanese Pound
CountrySouth Sudan
Dates2011 -


The South Sudanese Pound is the official currency of the Republic of South Sudan. It is subdivided into 100 piasters. It was approved by the Southern Sudan Legislative Assembly before secession on 9 July 2011 from Sudan. It was introduced on 18 July 2011, and replaced the Sudanese pound at par.

The banknotes feature the image of John Garang, the deceased leader of South Sudan's independence movement.

Six different denominations (1, 5, 10, 25, 50 and 100 pounds) in the form of banknotes have been confirmed, and five denominations (1, 5, 10, 25 and 50 piasters) will be issued in the form of coins.

Three new banknotes for 5, 10, and 25 piasters were issued 19 October 2011.

The first circulation coins of the South Sudanese pound denominated in 10, 20, 50 piasters and 1 and 2 pounds were issued July 9, 2015, on ocassion of the fourth anniversary of independence from Sudan.