Home / General Information / List of Mints / Den Kongelige Mønt (Royal Danish Mint)

Information about mint: Den Kongelige Mønt (Royal Danish Mint)

Mint nameDen Kongelige Mønt (Royal Danish Mint)
Dates1541 - 2016

The Royal Mint of Denmark (Danish: Den Kongelige Mønt) is a mint established by the Danish monarchy in the early 16th century, which currently by law is the only company allowed to mint the Danish currency (DKK). The Danish State now owns the company as an entity belonging to the Danish Central Bank.

In October 2014, it was announced by the Danish Central Bank that coin and banknote production would cease by the Royal Danish Mint and the printing facilities at the Central Bank by the end of 2016 citing production costs and the anticipated decreasing level or demand of coins and banknotes. The Central Bank has made arrangements to tender out their production to private firms.

Web sitehttp://www.kgl-moent.dk/