Home / General Information / List of Monarch Reigns / Isle of Man / King William IV, Lord of Mann

Information about reign: King William IV, Lord of Mann

CountryIsle of Man
From26 June 1830
To20 June 1837
Personal InformationKing William IV of the United Kingdom (1765 - 1837)

In 1765, Charlotte Murray, Duchess of Atholl, 8th Baroness Strange, sold the suzerainty of the island to the British government. By the passage of the Isle of Man Purchase Act 1765 the title of Lord of Mann was revested into the British Crown. It has therefore since been used on the Isle of Man to refer to the reigning Monarch of the United Kingdom.

Traditionally, the style is "Lord" even if the monarch is female; the exception was Queen Victoria, who was styled Lady of Mann.