Soviet Union: Coins Issued and Used

Showing only circulating coin types (regular coinage plus circulating commemoratives).

Soviet Union (1922 - 1991)
Information about what currencies were issued by Soviet Union, with lists of coinage, as well as periods when foreign-issued currencies were used.
Currency: Soviet Ruble. Used in Soviet Union: (1919 - 1991)
CurrencySoviet Ruble
PeriodSoviet Ruble
Used1919 - 1991

The Soviet ruble or rouble (Russian: рубль) was the currency of the Soviet Union. One ruble was divided into 100 kopeks, (also transliterated as kopecks or copecks Russian: копейка, pl. копейки - kopeyka, kopeyki).

In addition to standard banknotes, the Soviet ruble was available in the form of foreign rubles (Russian: инвалютный рубль); also, several forms of virtual rubles were used for inter-enterprise accounting and international settlement in the Comecon zone. Many of the ruble designs were created by Ivan Dubasov. The production of Soviet rubles was the responsibility of the Federal State Unitary Enterprise, or Goznak, which was in charge of the printing of and materials production for banknotes and the minting of coins in Moscow and Leningrad.

Royal Mint
Royal Mint