Home / Information / Countries / Abu Dhabi

Information about Abu Dhabi.

Country: Abu Dhabi
Province ofUnited Arab Emirates
From year1971

The Emirate of Abu Dhabi (Arabic: إمارة أبوظبي‎ Imārat Abū Ẓaby, is one of seven emirates that constitute the United Arab Emirates (UAE). It is the largest emirate by area (67,340 km2), accounting for approximately 87 percent of the total land area of the federation. Abu Dhabi also has the largest population of the seven emirates. In June 2011, it was estimated to be 2,120,700 people, of which, 439,100 people (less than 21%) were Emirati citizens, which has risen to 2.3 million in 2012.

Abu Dhabi is the capital city of the emirate, after which it is named, as well as the capital of the federation.

The ruler of Abu Dhabi customarily also holds the presidency of the UAE.

Monarch reigns
زَايِـد بِـن سُـلْـطَـان آل نَـهْـيَـان‎ (Emir Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan) 6 August 1966 2 November 2004
خليفة بن زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان (Emir Khalifa bin Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan) 2 November 2004