Home / Information / Countries / Algeria

Information about Algeria.

Country: Algeria
ISO code/s DZ / DZA
From year1962

Algeria (officially People's Democratic Republic of Algeria), is an Arab country in North Africa on the Mediterranean coast. Its capital and most populous city is Algiers. With a total area of 2,381,741 square kilometres, 90% of which is desert, Algeria is the tenth-largest country in the world, and the largest in Arab world and Africa (following the partition of Sudan) and on the Mediterranean. The country is bordered in the northeast by Tunisia, in the east by Libya, in the west by Morocco, in the southwest by Western Sahara, Mauritania, and Mali, in the southeast by Niger, and in the north by the Mediterranean Sea.

See also
Algeria, Ottoman 15251830
Algeria, French 18301962