Home / Information / Countries / Bahamas

Information about Bahamas.

Country: Bahamas
ISO code/s BS / BHS
From year1973

The Bahamas (officially the Commonwealth of The Bahamas), is an island country of the Lucayan Archipelago consisting of more than 700 islands, cays, and islets in the Atlantic Ocean; north of Cuba and Hispaniola (the Dominican Republic and Haiti); northwest of the Turks and Caicos Islands; southeast of the U.S. state of Florida and east of the Florida Keys. Its capital is Nassau on the island of New Providence. The designation of "Bahamas" can refer to either the country or the larger island chain that it shares with the Turks and Caicos Islands. As stated in the mandate/manifesto of the Royal Bahamas Defence Force, the Bahamas territory encompasses 470,000 km2 of ocean space.

See also
Bahamas, British Crown Colony 17181973
Monarch reigns
Queen Elizabeth II 10 July 1973