Home / Information / Countries / Burma

Information about Burma.

Country: Burma
ISO code/s MM / MMR
From year1948

Burma (officially the Republic of the Union of Myanmar, commonly shortened to Myanmar), is a sovereign state in Southeast Asia bordered by Bangladesh, India, China, Laos and Thailand. One-third of Burma's total perimeter of 1,930 km forms an uninterrupted coastline along the Bay of Bengal and the Andaman Sea. Burma has a population of 51 million people. Burma is 676,578 square kilometres in size. Burma's capital city is Naypyidaw and its largest city is Yangon.