Home / Information / Countries / Burundi

Information about Burundi.

Country: Burundi
ISO code/s BI / BDI
From year1962

Burundi (officially the Republic of Burundi]) is a landlocked country in the African Great Lakes region of Southeast Africa, bordered by Rwanda to the north, Tanzania to the east and south, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west. It is also sometimes considered part of Central Africa. Burundi's capital is Bujumbura. Although the country is landlocked, much of the southwestern border is adjacent to Lake Tanganyika.