Home / Information / Countries / Equatorial Guinea

Information about Equatorial Guinea.

Country: Equatorial Guinea
ISO code/s GQ / GNQ
From year1968

Equatorial Guinea (officially the Republic of Equatorial Guinea), is a country located in Central Africa, with an area of 28,000 square kilometres. Formerly the colony of Spanish Guinea, its post-independence name evokes its location near both the equator and the Gulf of Guinea. Equatorial Guinea is the only African state in which Spanish is an official language. As of 2012, the country has a population of 1.6 million.