Home / Information / Countries / Hong Kong

Information about Hong Kong.

Country: Hong Kong
Province ofChina
ISO code/s HK / HKG
From year1997

Hong Kong (香港; "Fragrant Harbour"), traditionally Hongkong, officially known as Hong Kong Special Administrative Region of the People's Republic of China, is an autonomous territory on the southern coast of China at the Pearl River Estuary and the South China Sea. Hong Kong is known for its skyline and deep natural harbour. It has an area of 1104 km2 and shares its northern border with the Guangdong Province of Mainland China. Home to around 7.2 million Hongkongers of various nationalities, Hong Kong is one of the world's most densely populated regions.

On 1 July 1997, the transfer of sovereignty of Hong Kong from the United Kingdom to the People's Republic of China took place, officially marking the end of Hong Kong's 156 years under British colonial governance. As the last Crown Colony of the United Kingdom, the loss of Hong Kong also represented the end of the British Empire. At the same time, Hong Kong switched its country of administration overnight to become China's first Special Administrative Region.

See also
Hong Kong, British 18411997
Latest coin and currency news articles from country: Hong Kong (click here for all news from Hong Kong)
XinhuaBank of China (Hong Kong) issues centenary commemorative banknotes
September 25, 2017

Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited (BOCHK) on Monday announced to issue commemorative banknotes in celebration of the centenary of Bank of China's (BOC) service to Hong Kong.

The banknotes will be available for subscription from Thursday to Oct. 18 for applicants aged 18 or above with a valid Hong Kong identity card. Application can be made online or in any BOCHK branches. Net proceeds generated from the sale will be used for local community projects and charitable causes, said Yue Yi, vice chairman and chief executive of BOCHK.