Jerusalem, Latin Kingdom of: Information

Coin Types
Jerusalem, Latin Kingdom of (1099 - 1291)

The Latin Kingdom of Jerusalem was a crusader state established in the Southern Levant in 1099 after the First Crusade. The kingdom lasted nearly two hundred years, from 1099 until 1291 when the last remaining possession, Acre, was destroyed by the Mamluks, but its history is divided into two distinct periods. The sometimes so-called First Kingdom of Jerusalem lasted from 1099 to 1187, when it was almost entirely overrun by Saladin. After the subsequent Third Crusade, the kingdom was re-established in Acre in 1192, and lasted until that city's destruction in 1291. This second kingdom is sometimes called the Second Kingdom of Jerusalem or the Kingdom of Acre, after its new capital.

Its name was Regnum Hierosolimitanum in Latin, Roiaume de Jherusalem in Old French, Regno di Gerusalemme in Italian and Βασίλειον τῶν Ἱεροσολύμων in Ancient Greek.

Jerusalem, Latin Kingdom of: List of Rulers.
Reign / RuleFromToCoins Issued
Queen Maria of Montferrat, sole rule 5 April 1205 3 October 1210
King John of Brienne and Queen Maria 3 October 1210 December 1225
Buy Silver and Gold Bullion Online
Buy Silver and Gold Bullion Online
Jerusalem, Latin Kingdom of: Details
Official NameJerusalem, Latin Kingdom of
Original NameRegnum Hierosolimitanum
FlagFlag of Jerusalem, Latin Kingdom of