Home / Information / Countries / Lesotho

Information about Lesotho.

Country: Lesotho
ISO code/s LS / LSO
From year1966

Lesotho (officially the Kingdom of Lesotho), is an enclaved landlocked country completely surrounded by South Africa. It is just over 30,000 km2 in size and has a population slightly over two million. Its capital and largest city is Maseru. Lesotho is a member of the Commonwealth of Nations. The name Lesotho translates roughly into the land of the people who speak Sesotho.

Monarch reigns
King Moshoeshoe II, first reign 4 October 1966 12 November 1990
King Letsie III, first reign 12 November 1990 25 January 1995
King Moshoeshoe II, second reign 25 January 1995 15 January 1996
King Letsie III, second reign 7 February 1996