Home / Information / Countries / Macedonia

Information about Macedonia.

Country: Macedonia
ISO code/s MK / MKD
From year1991

Macedonia (officially the Republic of Macedonia), is a country located in the central Balkan peninsula in Southeast Europe. It is one of the successor states of the former Yugoslavia, from which it declared independence in 1991. It became a member of the United Nations in 1993, but, as a result of an ongoing dispute with Greece over use of the name Macedonia, it was admitted under the provisional description of "the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia", abbreviated as FYROM.