Home / Information / Countries / Mauritius

Information about Mauritius.

Country: Mauritius
ISO code/s MU / MUS
From year1968

Mauritius (officially the Republic of Mauritius), is an island nation in the Indian Ocean about 2,000 kilometres off the southeast coast of the African continent. The country includes the island of Mauritius, Rodrigues (560 kilometres east), the islands of Agalega, and the archipelago of Saint Brandon. The islands of Mauritius, Rodrigues, and RĂ©union (170 km southwest) form part of the Mascarene Islands. The area of the country is 2,040 km2. The capital and largest city is Port Louis.

Monarch reigns
Queen Elizabeth II 12 March 1968 12 March 1992