Home / Information / Countries / Palestine (British Mandate)

Information about Palestine (British Mandate).

Country: Palestine (British Mandate)
From year1920
Existed to1948

Mandatory Palestine (Arabic: فلسطين‎‎ Filasṭīn; Hebrew: (פָּלֶשְׂתִּינָה (א"י Pālēśtīnā (EY), where "EY" indicates "Eretz Yisrael", Land of Israel) was a geopolitical entity under British administration, carved out of Ottoman Southern Syria after World War I. British civil administration in Palestine operated from 1920 until 1948. During its existence it was known simply as Palestine, but, in retrospect, as distinguishers, a variety of other names and descriptors have been used to refer to it, including Mandatory or Mandate Palestine, the British Mandate of Palestine and British Palestine.