Home / Information / Countries / Philippines

Information about Philippines.

Country: Philippines
ISO code/s PH / PHL
From year1946

The Philippines (officially known as the Republic of the Philippines), is a sovereign island country in Southeast Asia situated in the western Pacific Ocean. It consists of 7,107 islands that are categorized broadly under three main geographical divisions: Luzon, Visayas, and Mindanao. Its capital city is Manila while its most populous city is Quezon City; both are part of Metro Manila.

To the north of the Philippines across the Luzon Strait lies Taiwan; Vietnam sits west across the South China Sea; southwest is the island of Borneo across the Sulu Sea, and to the south the Celebes Sea separates it from other islands of Indonesia; while to the east it is bounded by the Philippine Sea and the island-nation of Palau. Its location on the Pacific Ring of Fire and close to the equator makes the Philippines prone to earthquakes and typhoons, but also endows it with abundant natural resources and some of the world's greatest biodiversity. At approximately 300,000 square kilometers, the Philippines is the 64th-largest country in the world.

Latest coin and currency news articles from country: Philippines (click here for all news from Philippines)
The StandardLimited-edition coins released
December 20, 2014

Three new limited-edition commemorative coins will be in circulation starting Monday, Dec. 22, the central bank announced on Friday.

Deputy Governor Vicente Aquino said the Bagong Bayani commemorative coins will be in honor of foreign-based Filipino workers on the five-peso coin, the 150th year of national hero Apolinario Mabini on the 10-peso coin, and the Leyte Landing - the turning point in the liberation of the Philippines during World War II - on the five-peso circulating coin.