Home / Information / Countries / Roman Republic (1798 - 1799)

Information about Roman Republic (1798 - 1799).

Country: Roman Republic (1798 - 1799)
Province ofFrance, First Republic
From year1798
Existed to1799

The Roman Republic (Italian: Repubblica Romana) was proclaimed on 15 February 1798 after Louis Alexandre Berthier, a general of Napoleon, had invaded the city of Rome on 10 February. The Roman Republic was a client republic under the French Directory composed of territory conquered from the Papal States. Pope Pius VI was exiled to France and died there in 1799. It immediately took the control of the other two former-papal revolutionary administrations, the Tiberina Republic and the Anconine Republic. The Roman Republic was short-lived, as the Papal States were restored in October 1799.