Home / Information / Countries / Slovakia, First Republic of

Information about Slovakia, First Republic of.

Country: Slovakia, First Republic of
From year1939
Existed to1945

The (First) Slovak Republic (Slovak: Slovenská republika) otherwise known as the Slovak State (Slovak: Slovenský štát) was a client state of Nazi Germany which existed between 14 March 1939 and 4 April 1945. It controlled the majority of the territory of present-day Slovakia, but without its current southern and eastern parts, which then formed part of Hungary. The Republic bordered Germany, the Protectorate of Bohemia and Moravia, Poland – and subsequently the General Government (German-occupied remnant of Poland) – and Hungary.

Germany recognized the Slovak State, as did several other states, including the Provisional Government of the Republic of China, Croatia, El Salvador, Estonia, Italy, Hungary, Japan, Lithuania, Manchukuo, Mengjiang, Romania, the Soviet Union, Spain, Switzerland, and the Vatican City.

The victorious allies of World War II retroactively nullified the legal existence of the first Slovak Republic through the nullification of the 1938 Munich Agreement and all its consequences.