Home / Information / Countries / Spanish Netherlands

Information about Spanish Netherlands.

Country: Spanish Netherlands
Province ofHoly Roman Empire
From year1482
Existed to1714

Spanish Netherlands (Spanish: Países Bajos españoles; Dutch: Spaanse Nederlanden; French: Pays-Bas espagnols, German: Spanische Niederlande) was the collective name of States of the Holy Roman Empire in the Low Countries, held in personal union by the Spanish Crown (also called Habsburg Spain) from 1482 to 1714. This region comprised most of modern Belgium and Luxembourg, as well as parts of northern France, part of southern Netherlands, and western Germany. The capital was Brussels.

The Imperial fiefs of the former Burgundian Netherlands had been inherited by the Austrian House of Habsburg from the extinct House of Valois-Burgundy upon the death of Mary of Burgundy in 1482. The Seventeen Provinces formed the core of the Habsburg Netherlands which passed to the Spanish Habsburgs upon the abdication of Emperor Charles V in 1556. When part of the Netherlands separated to form the autonomous Dutch Republic in 1581, the remainder of the area stayed under Spanish rule until the War of the Spanish Succession.

Monarch reigns
Filips I (Philip I, Lord of the Netherlands), King of Castile 27 March 1482 25 September 1506
Karel V (Charles V, Lord of the Netherlands), King of Spain and Holy Roman Emperor 25 September 1506 25 October 1555
Filips II (Philip II, Lord of the Netherlands), King of Spain 25 October 1555 13 September 1598
Isabella and Albrecht (Isabella Clara Eugenia and Albert VII of Austria) 6 May 1598 13 July 1621