Home / Information / Countries / Tibet

Information about Tibet.

Country: Tibet
Province ofChina
From year1720
Existed to1959

Tibet under Qing rule refers to the Qing dynasty's rule over Tibet from 1720 to 1912. During the Qing rule of Tibet, the region was structurally, militarily and administratively controlled by the Qing dynasty established by the Manchus in China. In the history of Tibet, Qing administrative rule was established after a Qing army defeated the Dzungars who occupied Tibet in 1720, and lasted until the fall of the Qing dynasty in 1912, although the region retained a degree of political autonomy under the Dalai Lamas. The Qing emperors appointed imperial residents known as the Ambans to Tibet, who commanded over 2,000 troops stationed in Lhasa and reported to the Lifan Yuan, a Qing government agency that oversaw the empire's frontier regions. The protectorate that China had established over Tibet in the 18th century remained into the 20th century, but by the late 19th century Chinese hegemony over Tibet remained in theory but in actuality was a dead letter given the weight of China's domestic and foreign-relations burdens. However, the Chinese began to take steps to reassert their authority shortly after the British expedition to Tibet.

The historical era of Tibet from 1912 to 1951 followed the collapse of the Qing dynasty in 1912, and lasted until the incorporation of Tibet by the People's Republic of China. The Tibetan Ganden Phodrang regime was Protectorate of the Qing until 1912, when the Provisional Government of the Republic of China replaced the Qing dynasty as the government of China, and signed a treaty with the Qing government inheriting all territories of the previous dynasty into the new republic, giving Tibet the status of a "Protectorate" with high levels of autonomy as it was Protectorate under the dynasty. At the same time, Tibet was also a British Protectorate. However, at the same time, several Tibetan representatives signed a treaty between Tibet and Mongolia proclaiming mutual recognition and their independence from China, although the Government of the Republic of China did not recognize its legitimacy. With the high levels of autonomy and the "proclaiming of independence" by several Tibetan representatives, this period of Tibet is often described as "de facto independent", especially by some Tibetan independence supporters, although most countries of the world, as well as the United Nations, recognized Tibet as a part of the Republic of China.

The era ended after the Nationalist government of China lost the Chinese Civil War against the Chinese Communist Party, when the People's Liberation Army entered Tibet in 1950 and the Seventeen Point Agreement was signed with the Chinese affirming China's sovereignty over Tibet the following year.

Monarch reigns
ངག་དབང་བློ་བཟང་རྒྱ་མཚོ་ (Ngawang Lobsang Gyatso, 5th Dalai Lama) 1642 1682
ཚངས་དབྱངས་རྒྱ་མཚོ (Tsangyang Gyatso, 6th Dalai Lama) 1697 1706
བསྐལ་བཟང་རྒྱ་མཚོ་ (Kelzang Gyatso, 7th Dalai Lama) 1720 1757
བྱམས་སྤེལ་རྒྱ་མཚོ་ (Jamphel Gyatso, 8th Dalai Lama) 1762 1804
ལུང་རྟོགས་རྒྱ་མཚོ་ (Lungtok Gyatso, 9th Dalai Lama) 1810 6 March 1815
ཚུལ་ཁྲིམས་རྒྱ་མཚོ་ (Tsultrim Gyatso, 10th Dalai Lama) 1826 30 September 1837
མཁས་གྲུབ་རྒྱ་མཚོ་ (Khedrup Gyatso, 11th Dalai Lama) 25 May 1842 31 January 1856
འཕྲིན་ལས་རྒྱ་མཚོ་ (Trinley Gyatso, 12th Dalai Lama) 1860 25 April 1875
ཐུབ་བསྟན་རྒྱ་མཚོ་ (Thupten Gyatso, 13th Dalai Lama) 13 July 1879 17 December 1933
བསྟན་འཛིན་རྒྱ་མཚོ། (Tenzin Gyatso, 14th Dalai Lama) 22 February 1940 30 March 1959