Home / Information / Countries / Yugoslavia

Information about Yugoslavia.

Country: Yugoslavia
ISO code/s YU / YUG
From year1918
Existed to2006

Yugoslavia (Serbo-Croatian, Macedonian, Slovene: Jugoslavija, Југославија), once spelled and called "Jugoslavia", was a country in Southeast Europe during most of the 20th century. It came into existence after World War I in 1918 under the name of Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes by the merger of the provisional State of Slovenes, Croats and Serbs (itself formed from territories of the former Austro-Hungarian Empire) with the formerly independent Kingdom of Serbia. The Serbian royal House of Karađorđević became the Yugoslav royal dynasty. Yugoslavia gained international recognition on 13 July 1922 at the Conference of Ambassadors in Paris. The country was named after the South Slavic peoples and constituted their first union, following centuries in which the territories had been part of the Ottoman Empire and Austria-Hungary.

Monarch reigns
Петар I Карађорђевић / Petar I Karađorđević (King Peter I) 1 December 1918 16 August 1921
Александар I Карађорђевић / Aleksandar I Karađorđević (King Alexander I) 16 August 1921 9 October 1934
Петар II Карађорђевић / Petar II Karađorđević (King Peter II) 9 October 1934 29 November 1945