Home / General Information / List of Currencies / Aruban Florin

Information about currency: Aruban Florin

Currency nameAruban Florin
Dates1986 -

1 Florin = 100 Cents


The florin (sign: Afl.; code: AWG) is the currency of Aruba. It is subdivided into 100 cents. The florin was introduced in 1986, replacing the Netherlands Antillean guilder at par. Although the Aruban florin is pegged with $1.79 USD, the commonly used street value is at $1.75 USD.

In 1986, coins were introduced in denominations of 5, 10, 25 and 50 cents, 1 and ​2 1⁄2 florin. Later, the 5 florin banknote was replaced by a square coin and the ​2 1⁄2 florin coin was removed from circulation. The 5 florin was later in 2005 replaced with a round golden coin, because the old square 5 florin coin was too easy to counterfeit. All coins are struck in nickel-bonded steel with exception of the 5 florin, which is an alloy of copper and other metals. The 50 cent is the only square-shaped coin remaining, also commonly referred to as a "yotin" by the locals.

On the back of each 1, ​2 1⁄2 and 5 florin coins is the profile view of the current head of state of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. From 1986 to 2013 it was queen Beatrix and from 2014 onwards it is king Willem-Alexander. Moreover, only these coins have a writing on their edge, 'God Zij Met Ons' meaning 'God Be With Us'.

Currency Aruban Florin was used:
Country From To
Aruba Aruban Florin 1986