Home / General Information / List of Currencies / Austro-Hungarian Krone

Information about currency: Austro-Hungarian Krone

Currency nameAustro-Hungarian Krone
Dates1892 - 1918

1 Krone = 100 Heller (in Hungary: 1 Korona = 100 Fillér)


The Krone or korona (German: Krone, Hungarian: korona, Serbo-Croatian: kruna, Czech and Slovak: koruna) was the official currency of the Austro-Hungarian Empire from 1892 (when it replaced the gulden, forint, florén or zlatka as part of the adoption of the gold standard) until the dissolution of the empire in 1918. The subunit was one hundredth of the main unit, and was called a Heller in the Austrian and a fillér (or halier in Slovak and haléř in Czech) in the Hungarian part of the Empire.

The official name of the currency was Krone (pl. Kronen) in Austria and Osztrák–magyar korona in Hungary. The Latin form Corona (plural Coronæ), abbreviated to Cor. on the smaller coins, was used for the coinage of the mostly German-speaking part of the empire known as Cisleithania. Currency names in other ethnic languages were also recognised and appeared on the banknotes: koruna (pl. korun) in Czech, korona (pl. korony) in Polish, корона, korona (pl. корон, koron) in Ukrainian, corona (pl. corone) in Italian, krona (pl. kron) in Slovene, kruna (pl. kruna) in Croatian, круна, kruna (singular and plural) in Serbian,koruna (pl. korún) in Slovak, and coroană (pl. coroane) in Romanian. These terms all translate to the English word crown.

The symbol of the currency was the abbreviation K. or sometimes Kr.

Currency Austro-Hungarian Krone was used:
Country From To
Albania Austro-Hungarian Krone 1912 1918
Austria-Hungary Austro-Hungarian Krone 1892 1918
Montenegro, Kingdom of Austro-Hungarian Krone 1892 1906
Liechtenstein Austro-Hungarian Krone 1892 1918