Information about currency: East African Rupee

East African Rupee (1906 - 1920)
Currency NameEast African Rupee
System1 Rupee = 100 Cents

The Rupee was the currency of Britain's East African colonies and protectorates between 1906 and 1920. It was divided into 100 cents.

The rupee replaced the Indian rupee, which had previously circulated. In 1920, the rupee was revalued against sterling to a peg of 1 rupee = 2 shillings (1 florin). In East Africa, this was followed in the same year by the replacement of the rupee with the East African florin at par.

The currency is noteworthy for including the world's first aluminium coin, the 1907 1 Cent. Silver coins were introduced for 25 and 50 Cents in 1906, followed by aluminium 1 Cent and cupro-nickel 10 Cents in 1907, aluminium ½ Cent in 1908 and cupro-nickel 5 Cents in 1913. Cupro-nickel replaced aluminium in 1909. In 1906, notes (the first dated 1905) were introduced by the government of the East Africa Protectorate in denominations of 5, 10, 20, 40, 100 and 500 rupees. In 1920, the East African currency Board issued 1 rupee notes shortly before the rupee was replaced.

East African Rupee: Details
Issued ByEast Africa Protectorate
East African Rupee: Users
Flag of East Africa Protectorate East Africa Protectorate East African Rupee 1906 1920