Information about currency: Falkland Islands Pound

Falkland Islands Pound (1971 - present)
Currency NameFalkland Islands Pound
System1 Pound = 100 Pence

The pound is the currency of the Falkland Islands, a British Overseas Territory in the South Atlantic Ocean. The symbol is the pound sign, £, or alternatively FK£, to distinguish it from other pound-denominated currencies.

The Falklands pound has always been pegged to the pound sterling at par and banknotes of both currencies are used interchangeably on the islands (although only notes issued by banks in the United Kingdom are generally accepted in Britain itself).

The pound was introduced following the reassertion of sovereignty in the Falklands Islands by the British in 1833. Initially, the British currency circulated, with the pound subdivided into 20 shillings, each of 12 pence. Specific issues of banknotes have been made for the Falkland Islands since 1899. In 1971, the pound was decimalised and subdivided into 100 pence. Coins have been minted specifically for the Falklands since 1974. During the earlier Argentine occupation, the peso circulated.

Coin Types in currency: Falkland Islands Pound (2)
Coin TypeTypeFromToSub-typesCoins
Fifty Pence, NCLT Non-Circulating Legal Tender 1977 1 5
Unsorted Other 27
Buy American Gold Eagle Coins
Buy American Gold Eagle Coins
Falkland Islands Pound: Details
Issued ByFalkland Islands
Falkland Islands Pound: Users
Flag of Falkland Islands Falkland Islands Falkland Islands Pound 1971
Falkland Islands Pound: Related Currencies
Flag of United Kingdom United Kingdom Pound Sterling 1971