Home / General Information / List of Currencies / Gazeta

Information about currency: Gazeta

Currency nameGazeta
CountrySeptinsular Republic
Dates1801 - 1819


The gazeta (plural gazetes, Greek: γαζέτα, plural γαζέτες) was a currency issued in the Septinsular Republic (Ionian Islands) in 1801 during the Russia and Ottoman Empire protectorate. It replaced the Venetian lira at a rate of 1 gazeta = 2 soldi, and continued to be used through the existence of the Septinsular Republic. After the British took possession of the islands, coins were countermarked in Turkish kuruş for use on the islands before the obol was introduced in 1819 for the United States of the Ionian Islands.

Currency Gazeta was used:
Country From To
Septinsular Republic Gazeta 1801 1819
Coin types of currency Gazeta:
Ten Gazzete (Italian) 1801 - 1801

Ten Gazetae (Greek) 1801 - 1801

Five Gazzete (Italian) 1801 - 1801

Five Gazetae (Greek) 1801 - 1801

Gazeta 1801 - 1801