Information about currency: Ghanaian Pound

Ghanaian Pound (1958 - 1965)
Currency NameGhanaian Pound
System1 Pound = 20 Shillings, 1 Shilling = 12 Pence

The Ghanaian Pound was the currency of Ghana between 1958 and 1965. It was subdivided into 20 shillings, each of 12 pence. Until 1958, Ghana used the British West African pound, after which it issued its own currency. In 1958, Bronze coins were issued for ½ and 1 penny, along with cupro-nickel 3 and 6 pence, 1 and 2 shillings. The 3 pence coin was scalloped in shape.

In 1965, Ghana introduced the first cedi at a rate of 1 pound = 2.4 cedis, i.e., 1 cedi = 100 pence.

Buy Silver and Gold Bullion Online
Buy Silver and Gold Bullion Online
Ghanaian Pound: Details
Issued ByGhana
Ghanaian Pound: Users
Flag of Ghana Ghana Ghanaian Pound 1958 1965
Ghanaian Pound: Related Currencies
Flag of United Kingdom United Kingdom Pound Sterling (pre-decimal) 1801 1971