Information about currency: Indonesian Rupiah

Indonesian Rupiah (1946 - present)
Currency NameIndonesian Rupiah
System1 Rupiah = 100 Sen (Sen now obsolete)

The rupiah (Rp) is the official currency of Indonesia, issued and controlled by the Bank of Indonesia. The name "rupiah" is derived from the Hindustani word rupiyaa (روپیہ), ultimately from Sanskrit rupya (wrought silver). Informally, Indonesians also use the word "perak" ('silver' in Indonesian) in referring to rupiah. The rupiah is subdivided into 100 sen, although inflation has rendered all coins and banknotes denominated in sen obsolete.

The Rupiah was introduced in 1946, but as an internationally recognised currency should be dated to 1950.

The Riau islands and the Indonesian half of New Guinea (Irian Barat) had their own variants of the rupiah in the past, but these were subsumed into the national rupiah in 1964 and 1971 respectively.

Buy American Gold Eagle Coins
Buy American Gold Eagle Coins
Indonesian Rupiah: Details
Issued ByIndonesia
Indonesian Rupiah: Users
Flag of Indonesia Indonesia Indonesian Rupiah 1946