Information about currency: Nepalese Mohar

Nepalese Mohar (1799 - 1932)
Currency NameNepalese Mohar
System1 Mohar = 128 Dams

The mohar was the currency of Kingdom of Nepal and parts of the Kingdom of Videha from until 1932. Silver and gold mohars were issued, each subdivided into 128 dams. Copper dams were also issued, together with copper paisa worth 4 copper dams. The values of the copper, silver and gold coinages relative to one another were not fixed until 1903. In that year, the silver mohar became the standard currency, divided into 50 paisa. It was replaced in 1932 by the rupee, also called the mohru(Moru), at a rate of 2 mohars = 1 rupee.

Coin Types in currency: Nepalese Mohar (1)
Coin TypeTypeFromToSub-typesCoins
Unsorted Other 40
Royal Mint
Royal Mint
Nepalese Mohar: Details
Issued ByNepal
Nepalese Mohar: Users
Flag of Nepal Nepal Nepalese Mohar 1792 1932