Information about currency: Netherlands New Guinean Gulden

Netherlands New Guinean Gulden (1950 - 1963)
Currency NameNetherlands New Guinean Gulden

The gulden was the currency of Netherlands New Guinea until 1963. Until 1950, issues of the Netherlands Indies circulated. A separate currency came into being when West New Guinea became the only part of the Netherlands Indies to remain in Dutch control. The currency was fixed at parity with the Dutch gulden. It circulated until Netherlands New Guinea became part of Indonesia as West Irian in 1963. That year, the West Irian rupiah replaced the gulden at par.

Royal Mint Bullion
Royal Mint Bullion
Netherlands New Guinean Gulden: Details
Issued ByNew Guinea, Netherlands
Netherlands New Guinean Gulden: Users
Flag of New Guinea, Netherlands New Guinea, Netherlands Netherlands New Guinean Gulden 1950 1963