Information about currency: Norwegian Rigsdaler

Norwegian Rigsdaler (1713 - 1816)
Currency NameNorwegian Rigsdaler
System1 Rigsdaler = 96 Skilling

The rigsdaler was the unit of currency used in Norway until 1816 and in Denmark until 1873. The similarly named Reichsthaler, riksdaler and rijksdaalder were used in Germany and Austria-Hungary, Sweden and the Netherlands, respectively.

During the political union between Denmark and Norway, Danish currency circulated alongside Norwegian. Norway itself issued currency denominated in two different rigsdaler, the rigsdaler courant and the rigsdaler specie, with 96 skilling to the rigsdaler courant and 120 skilling to the rigsdaler specie.

In 1816, following the establishment of the union between Sweden and Norway, the rigsdaler specie was renamed the speciedaler and became the standard unit of currency in Norway.

In the late 18th and early 19th centuries, coins were issued in denominations of 1, 2, 4, 8 and 24 skilling, 1⁄15, 1⁄5, 1⁄3, 1⁄2, 2⁄3 and 1 rigsdaler specie.

In 1695, government notes were issued for 10, 20, 25, 50 and 100 rigsdaler (spelt rixdaler). In 1807, notes were reintroduced by the government, in denominations of 1, 5, 10 and 100 rigsdaler courant, with 12 skilling notes added in 1810. In 1813, Rigsbankens Norske Avdeling began issuing notes. In denominations of 1, 5, 50, and 100 Rigsbankdaler. Subsequent series were issued by Norges Midlertidige Rigsbank (1814), Stattholderbevis (1815), and Norges Bank (1817–22 to the present).

American Bullion Inc. - Invest in Silver
American Bullion Inc. - Invest in Silver
Norwegian Rigsdaler: Details
Issued ByNorway
Norwegian Rigsdaler: Users
Flag of Norway Norway Norwegian Rigsdaler 1713 1816