Information about currency: Paʻanga

Paʻanga (1967 - present)
Currency NamePaʻanga
System1 hau = 100 paʻanga, 1 paʻanga = 100 seniti

The paʻanga is the currency of Tonga. It is controlled by the National Reserve Bank of Tonga (Pangikē Pule Fakafonua ʻo Tonga) in Nukuʻalofa. The paʻanga is not convertible and is pegged to a basket of currencies comprising the Australian, New Zealand, United States dollars and the Japanese yen.

The paʻanga is subdivided into 100 seniti. The ISO code is TOP, and the usual abbreviation is T$ (¢ for seniti). In Tonga the paʻanga is often referred to in English as the dollar, the seniti as the cent and the hau as the union. There is also the unit of hau (1 hau = 100 paʻanga), but this is not used in everyday life and can only be found on commemorative coins of higher denominations.

The paʻanga was introduced on 3 April 1967. It replaced the pound at a rate of 1 pound = 2 paʻanga. Until 11 February 1991, the pa'anga was pegged to the Australian dollar at par. Since that time, a basket of currencies is taken (see above) and the paʻanga has continuously declined.

Buy American Gold Eagle Coins
Buy American Gold Eagle Coins
Paʻanga: Details
Issued ByTonga
Paʻanga: Users
Flag of Tonga Tonga Paʻanga 1967