Information about currency: Rwandan Franc

Rwandan Franc (1964 - present)
Currency NameRwandan Franc

The Rwandan Franc (French: Franc rwandais; sign: FRw, ISO 4217: RWF) is the currency of Rwanda. It is subdivided into 100 centimes.

The Belgian franc became the currency of Rwanda in 1916, when Belgium occupied the previously German colony and the Belgian Congo franc replaced the German East African Rupie. Rwanda used the currency of the Belgian Congo until 1960, when the Rwanda and Burundi franc was introduced.

Rwanda began issuing its own francs in 1964, two years after gaining independence. In 1964, coins were introduced for 1, 5 and 10 francs, with the 1 and 10 francs in cupronickel and the 5 francs in bronze. In 1969, aluminium 1 franc coins were introduced, followed in 1970 by 1/2 and 2 francs also in aluminium. A reduced sized copper-nickel 10 franc coin was issued in 1974.

Brass 20 and 50 francs were introduced in 1977. New series of 1 to 50 franc coins were issued in 2004 (dated 2003) and a new bimetallic coin of 100 francs was introduced in 2008 (dated 2007).

Coin Types in currency: Rwandan Franc (5)
Coin TypeTypeFromToSub-typesCoins
Silver Ounce (1 oz), Bullion Bullion 2008 28
Gold Ounce (1 oz), Bullion Bullion 2018 18
Silver Three Ounces (3 oz) Non-Circulating Legal Tender 2020 2
Platinum Ounce (1 oz) Bullion 2022 4
Unsorted Other 6
Royal Mint
Royal Mint
Rwandan Franc: Details
Issued ByRwanda
Rwandan Franc: Users
Flag of Rwanda Rwanda Rwandan Franc 1964