Home / General Information / List of Currencies / Sahrawi Peseta

Information about currency: Sahrawi Peseta

Currency nameSahrawi Peseta
CountrySahrawi Arab Democratic Republic
Dates1990 -


The Sahrawi peseta (Arabic: البيزيتا الصحراوي‎, Spanish: Peseta Saharaui) is the currency of the partially recognized Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic. It is divided in 100 céntimos, although coins with this denomination have never been minted, nor have banknotes been printed.

The first Sahrawi pesetas were minted in 1990, but they were not adopted as the national coin of Western Sahara until 1997. As this territory is mostly controlled by Morocco, the circulating currency in that part of the country is the Moroccan dirham, with Algerian dinar and Mauritanian ouguiya circulating alongside the Sahrawi peseta in the Sahrawi refugee camps and the SADR-controlled part of Western Sahara.

As it is not an official currency and not circulating, the Change Rate is not really realistic. Despite this, Sahrawi Peseta has been pegged at par to Spanish Peseta, and when the latter was phased out by the Euro, the rate became €1 for 166.386 Pts.

Non-commemorative coins are supposedly designated for circulation. They are made from cupronickel. The denominations are: 1, 2, 5, 50, 100, 200 and 500 pesetas. There have also been commemorative emissions in copper, silver and gold.

Currency Sahrawi Peseta was used:
Country From To
Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic Sahrawi Peseta 1990
Coin types of currency Sahrawi Peseta:
Fifty Pesetas 1990 - 1990

One Peseta 1992 - 1992

Two Pesetas 1992 - 1992

Five Pesetas 1992 - 1992