Information about currency: Seychellois Rupee

Seychellois Rupee (1914 - present)
Currency NameSeychellois Rupee
System1 Rupee = 100 Cents

The rupee is the currency of the Seychelles. It is subdivided into 100 cents. In the local Seychellois Creole (Seselwa) language, it is called the roupi. The international currency code is SCR. The abbreviations SR and SRe are sometimes used.

As a British colony, the British Legislative Council authorized the establishment of a Board of Commissioners of Currency through the Paper Currency Ordinance of 1914, which was enacted by C. R. M. O’Brien, the governor of the Colony of the Seychelles on 10 August 1914. In 1914, the government produced emergency issues of notes for 50 cents, 1, 5 and 10 rupees.

Standard issue notes began to be issued in 1918, with notes for 50 cents and 1 rupee, followed by 5, 10 and 50 rupees in 1928. The 50 cents and 1 rupee notes were issued until 1951 and phased out in favor of the coins. 20- and 100-rupee notes were first introduced in 1968, whilst the 5-rupee note was replaced by a coin in 1972.

In 1976, the Seychelles Monetary Authority took over the issuance of paper money, issuing notes for 10, 25, 50 and 100 rupees. This series featured the first president of the Seychelles, James Mancham and replaced all colonial notes issued prior to independence.

Royal Mint Bullion
Royal Mint Bullion
Seychellois Rupee: Details
Issued BySeychelles
Seychellois Rupee: Users
Flag of Seychelles Seychelles Seychellois Rupee 1976