Information about currency: Sudanese Pound

Sudanese Pound (1956 - 1992)
Currency NameSudanese Pound

The Sudanese pound (Arabic: جنيه سوداني Junaih Sudani) is the currency of Sudan and also used in South Sudan until finalisation of the introduction of the South Sudanese pound. Both Arabic and English names for the denominations appear on the country's banknotes and coins.

First Pound

In 1956, coins were introduced in denominations of 1, 2, 5 and 10 millim, 2, 5 and 10 qirush. The millim denominations were struck in bronze, whilst the qirush denominations were in cupro-nickel. The 2, 5 and 10 millim were scallop shaped, although a round 5 millim was introduced in 1971. The 1 and 2 millim were last struck in 1969, the last 5 millim in 1978. In 1983, brass 1, 2 and 5 qirush, a reduced size 10 qirush and a cupro-nickel 20 qirush were introduced. In 1987, aluminium-bronze 1, 5, 10, 20, 25 and 50 qirush and 1 pound were introduced, with the 25 and 50 qirush square and octagonal in shape, respectively. In 1989, stainless-steel 25 and 50 qirush and 1 pound were issued. This is the general pattern, in addition to these coins there are collector-oriented issues and various oddities. See popular coin catalogues for details.

Second Pound

Coins in denominations of 1, 5, 10, 20 and 50 qirush were introduced alongside the circulating dinar coins. The Central Bank of Sudan states that the 5 qirush coins are yellow coloured (perhaps aluminium-bronze) and the 10 qirush is silver coloured (made of stainless steel). The 20 and 50 qirush coins are bi-metallic, with the 20 qirush yellow ringed with a silver coloured centre and the 50 qirush the opposite.

Period: First Pound (1956 - 1992)
NameFirst Pound
Period1956 - 1992

The first pound to circulate in Sudan was the Egyptian pound. The late 19th century rebels Muhammad ibn Abdalla (the Mahdi) and Abdallahi ibn Muhammad (the Khalifa) both issued coins which circulated alongside the Egyptian currency. When Anglo-Egyptian rule in Sudan ceased on January 1, 1956 and Sudan became an independent country, a distinct Sudanese currency (the Sudanese pound) was created, replacing the Egyptian pound at par.

The Egyptian pound was subdivided into 100 qirush (Arabic: قروش, singular qirsh, قرش, English: piastre). The qirsh used to be subdivided into 40 para, but decimalisation following the 1886 Egyptian currency reform established a 1/10 qirsh, which came to be known as a millim (ملّيمات, singular: ملّيم). Due to this legacy, the post 1956 Sudanese pound was divided into 100 qirush, subdivided into 10 millims.

The pound was replaced in 1992 by the dinar (SDD) at a rate of 1 dinar = 10 pounds.

Period: Second Pound (2007 - 2011)
NameSecond Pound
Period2007 - 2011

According to the Comprehensive Peace Agreement between the government of the Republic of the Sudan and the Sudan People's Liberation Movement, the Central Bank of Sudan (CBOS) adopted a program to issue a new currency as soon as is practical during the Interim Period. The design of the new currency reflects the cultural diversity of Sudan. The second pound began introduction on 9 or 10 January 2007, and became the only legal tender as of July 1, 2007. It replaced the dinar at a rate of 1 pound = 100 dinars or 1 pound (SDG) = 1000 pounds (SDP).

Period: Third Pound (2011 - present)
NameThird Pound
Period2011 - present

The third edition of the Sudanese pound was established on 24 July 2011 following the secession of South Sudan from the Republic of Sudan.

Sudanese Pound: Details
Issued BySudan
Sudanese Pound: Users
Flag of Sudan Sudan Sudanese Pound (first) 1956 1992
Flag of Sudan Sudan Sudanese Pound 2007