Information about currency: Transcaucasian Ruble

Transcaucasian Ruble (1918 - 1924)
Currency NameTranscaucasian Ruble

The ruble (Russian: рубль, Armenian: ռուբլի), manat (Azerbaijani: منات) or maneti (Georgian: მანეთი) was the currency of both Transcaucasian states, the Transcaucasian Democratic Federative Republic and the Transcaucasian Soviet Federal Socialist Republic.

In 1918, the Comissariat of the short-lived Transcaucasian Democratic Federative Republic issued paper money denominated in rubles: Ruble Transcaucasian Commissariat. This ruble was equivalent to the Russian ruble. The notes bore Russian text on the obverse, with Armenian, Azerbaijani and Georgian texts on the reverses. Denominations were 1, 3, 5, 10, 50, 100 and 250 rubles.

Between 1919 and 1922/3, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia issued their own currencies, the Armenian ruble, Azerbaijani manat and Georgian maneti, which replaced the Transcaucasian ruble at par.

In 1923 and 1924, the Transcaucasian Soviet Federal Socialist Republic (part of the USSR) issued notes of denominations between 1000 and 10 milliard rubles.

From 1924 and onwards, the Soviet ruble circulated as the official currency of the Transcaucasian SFSR (and the three Soviet Socialist Republics that succeeded the Transcaucasian SFSR).

Buy American Gold Eagle Coins
Buy American Gold Eagle Coins
Transcaucasian Ruble: Details
Issued ByTranscaucasian SFR
Transcaucasian Ruble: Users
Flag of Transcaucasian SFR Transcaucasian SFR Transcaucasian Ruble 1918 1924