Home / General Information / List of Currencies / Tuscan Lira

Information about currency: Tuscan Lira

Currency nameTuscan Lira
CountryTuscany, Grand Duchy of
Dates1569 - 1826

1 Lira = 20 Soldi, 1 Soldo = 3 Quattrini, 1 Quattrino = 4 Denari


The pound (Italian: lira) was the distinct currency of Tuscany until the annexation by Napoleonic France in 1807. After that year, it unofficially remained in circulation thanks to its silver value until the restoration of Tuscan independence in 1814. It was finally abolished in 1826.

It was subdivided into 20 shillings (Italian: soldo), each of 3 quattrini (singular: quattrino) or 12 pennies (Italian: denaro), with the paolo worth 40 quattrini and the francescone worth 10 paoli. It was replaced by the florin, worth 100 quattrini or  1 2⁄3 pounds. In 1803 the pound contained 3.66 grams of silver.

Currency Tuscan Lira was used:
Country From To
Etruria, Kingdom of Tuscan Lira 1801 1807
Tuscany, Grand Duchy of Tuscan Lira 1569 1826