Home / General Information / List of Currencies / Vatican Lira

Information about currency: Vatican Lira

Currency nameVatican Lira
Dates1929 - 2002

1 Lira = 100 Centesimi


The lira (plural lire) was the currency of the Vatican City between 1929 and 2002.

The Papal States, by then reduced to a smaller area close to Rome, used its own lira between 1866 and 1870, after which it ceased to exist. In 1929, the Lateran Treaty established the State of the Vatican City and, according with the terms of the Treaty, a distinct coinage was introduced, denominated in centesimi and lire, on par with the Italian lira. Italian coins and banknotes were legal tender in the Vatican City. The Vatican coins were minted in Rome and were also legal tender in Italy and San Marino.

In 2002, the Vatican City switched to the euro at an exchange rate of 1 euro = 1936.27 lira. It has its own set of euro coins.

Currency Vatican Lira was used:
Country From To
Vatican Vatican Lira 1929 2002
Italy Vatican Lira 1929 2002
San Marino Vatican Lira 1929 2002