Home / General Information / List of Currencies / Venetian Lira

Information about currency: Venetian Lira

Currency nameVenetian Lira
Dates1193 - 1807


The lira (plural lire) was the distinct currency of Venice until 1807. It was subdivided into 20 soldi, each of 12 denari. The ducato was equal to 124 soldi, whilst the tallero (also known as the zecchino) was equal to 7 lire. The lira of Napoleon's Kingdom of Italy replaced the Venetian lira in 1807.

Currency Venetian Lira was used:
Country From To
Venice Venetian Lira 1193 1797