Information about Emperor Akihito of Japan

Emperor Akihito of Japan (23 December 1933 - )

Emperor Akihito (明仁) is a member of the Imperial House of Japan who reigned as the 125th Emperor of Japan, according to the traditional order of succession, from 7 January 1989 until his abdication on 30 April 2019. He succeeded to the Chrysanthemum Throne upon the death of his father, Emperor Showa (Hirohito).

In Japan, during his reign, Akihito was never referred to by his given name, but rather was referred to as "His Majesty the Emperor" (天皇陛下 Tenno Heika) which may be shortened to "His Majesty" (陛下 Heika). The era of Akihito's reign from 1989 to 2019 bears the name Heisei (平成), and according to custom he will be renamed Emperor Heisei (平成天皇 Heisei Tennō, see "posthumous name") by order of the Cabinet after his death.

On 1 December 2017, the government announced that Emperor Akihito would abdicate on 30 April 2019, and that his son Naruhito would become emperor as of 1 May 2019.

Following an abdication ceremony on the afternoon of 30 April, Akihito's reign and the Heisei era continued until the end of the day. Naruhito then succeeded him as emperor at the beginning of the day on 1 May, ushering in the Reiwa era.

Upon Akihito's abdication, he received the title of Jōkō (上皇, "Emperor Emeritus"), an abbreviated form of Daijō Tennō (太上天皇, "abdicated sovereign").

Emperor Akihito of Japan reigned in...
Reigned asIn CountryFromToCoins Issued
明仁 (Emperor Akihito) Flag of Japan Japan 7 January 1989 30 April 2019
Royal Mint
Royal Mint
Advertising (helps this site)
Buy coins at Amazon
Relevant Links